Gamification Explained

Unknown
Picture retrieved from Forbes.com

This past week I was introduced to the idea of Gamification, but I have been reached by the Gamification technique for quite some time now.

Gamification is the concept of applying both game mechanics (points, levels, challenges, virtual goods, gifting, and Leaderboards) and techniques in order to provide an engagement of activity which motivates people to reach or achieve a particular goal. Gamification bases context on people’s needs, desires, and impulses.

According to Badgeville.com, Gamification techniques strive to leverage people’s natural desires for Competition, Achievement, Status, Community Collaboration, and Altruism.

Bartle’s 4 Player Types are profiled as Killers, Achievers, Socialites and Explorers. Killers are defined by a focus on winning, rank, and direct peer-to-peer competition. These players are engaged by Leaderboards and ranks. Achievers are defined by a focus on attaining status and achieving preset goals quickly. These players are engaged by achievements. Socialites are defined by a focus on socializing and a drive to develop a network of friends and contacts. These players are engaged by Newsfeeds and Friends lists. Explorers are defined by a focus on exploring and a drive to discover the unknown. These players are engaged by obfuscated achievements.

Examples of Gamification are Frequent Flyer Miles, Hotel Rewards, Ebay, and Farmville.

I personally enjoy the use of both Southwest Airlines Rapid Rewards and Marriott Rewards. Along with these two, the MyPanera Card has come in quite handy. Panera offers discounts and free items for using their card. Another example of Gamification that I enjoy is Regal Rewards. Each time I purchase movie tickets and concession items I accumulate points. I have been rewarded from Regal with free items such as soft drinks and popcorn so far. This is great for me because I always get popcorn when going to the movies and that desire is fulfilled when my ticket stub informs me that I have earned a free popcorn.

According to the research company Gartner, by 2015 customer retention will be become as important as Facebook, eBay, or Amazon, and more than 70% of Global 2000 organizations will have at least one gamified application.

My first group assignment for my Assembling Digital Media class is to come up with an idea for Gamification. I will post the outcome after my group presentation.

 

Leave a Reply

